Users' questions

How do I get my license back after a DUI in CA?

How do I get my license back after a DUI in CA?

How to Reinstate Your License after a California DUI

  1. Complete the full period of your license suspension.
  2. Serve your full jail or prison sentence.
  3. Complete DUI school.
  4. Complete any other sentencing conditions.
  5. Get the right car insurance.
  6. Apply for reinstatement.

What happens when you get your first DUI in California?

A first offense DUI in California is a misdemeanor typically punished by 3 to 5 years of probation, $390.00 to $1000.00 in fines plus penalty assessments, DUI school, a 6-month driver’s license suspension, and installation of an ignition interlock device.

When to request a DMV hearing for DUI?

The DMV is very strict about this 10-day rule for requesting a DMV hearing and if you request a hearing after 10 days have passed since your DUI arrest, the DMV will likely deny your late hearing request unless you have a very good reason such as you were in jail or in the hospital.

What happens when you get arrested for a DUI in California?

When you get arrested for a DUI in California, the officer will almost always take your driver’s license away and give you a pink piece of paper which is your 30-day temporary license. This document is confusing and difficult to understand.

Can you still drive after a DMV hearing?

A Stay allows you to keep driving even after your 30-day temporary pink license has expired; so this means you can keep driving at least until the date of your DMV Hearing. Your DMV Hearing is usually 1-3 months after your arrest so a Stay can possibly buy you at least 2 more months of driving.

How to get a DUI attorney in Los Angeles?

Los Angeles DUI Attorney. We can do this for you – we can obtain a Stay and DMV Hearing for you if you were arrested for DUI in Los Angeles County. Contact our office (310) 285-1516 and we will obtain a Stay and a DMV Hearing for you.

When to request a hearing for your DUI at the DMV?

If you either refused to take a blood or breath test, or you elected to take a breath test, you have seven days from the date of your arrest to request a hearing at the DMV. The seven day period runs from the date listed on the Notice of Revocation.

How long can you Drive in California after a DUI?

You may drive for 30 days from the date the order of suspension or revocation was issued, provided you have a California driver license and your driver license is not expired, or your driving privilege is not suspended or revoked for some other reason.

What happens when a driver is acquitted of a DUI?

When a driver has been acquitted of DUI charges in court, a suspension or revocation will be reversed if it is determined by the DMV that the court decision does, in fact, equal an acquittal. The suspension of my driving privilege was sustained following my DMV hearing, but the DUI charge was reduced in criminal court to reckless driving.

How are DUI cases handled at the DMV?

In the majority of DUI incidents involving alcohol there are two actions taken against the driver, the criminal case in court that is handled by a prosecutor and the administrative action handled by the Department of Motor Vehicles regarding the individual’s driving privileges.