Helpful tips

Does PA have rental assistance?

Does PA have rental assistance?

​The Emergency Rental Assistance Program (ERAP) was created to help renters dealing with financial challenges related to the COVID-19 pandemic. For eligible households, the program offers rental and utility assistance to help Pennsylvanians avoid eviction or loss of utility service.

Is it unlawful to evict a tenant in Pennsylvania?

Self-Eviction in Pennsylvania is Unlawful. A landlord who fails to follow the Pennsylvania eviction process may either have the eviction action dismissed or be liable to a tenant for damages. The eviction process allows for at least minimal due process rights for any tenant facing eviction.

Who is eligible for eviction assistance in PA?

Single moms, the unemployed, working poor and other Pennsylvania residents may qualify for homeless prevention programs. Whether it is a cash grant for a security deposit, or legal aid, non-profits will try to stop an eviction. The Welfare Department runs the ESA program.

How much does it cost to evict someone in PA?

As the next step in the eviction process, Pennsylvania landlords must file a complaint in the appropriate court. In Adams County, this costs $167-$222 in filing fees depending on how much the tenant owes the landlord in back rent or other expenses.

How to file a complaint for eviction in PA?

If the tenant fails to comply with the notice, the landlord must file and serve a complaint in the Magisterial District Justice court or Court of Common Pleas. The complaint will indicate that the eviction hearing will be held within one or two weeks. The tenant should contact the court and notify the clerk that he or she will be appearing.

How does eviction work in the state of PA?

How Evictions Work in Pennsylvania. The Pennsylvania Landlord-Tenant Act of 1951 sets out specific rules and procedures for evicting a tenant. The landlord must first send the tenant a Notice to Quit, giving the tenant ten days to move out of the rental unit.

Can a landlord evict you with no lease in PA?

Eviction Process for No Lease / End of Lease In the state of Pennsylvania, if tenants “hold over,” or stay in the rental unit after the rental term has expired, then the landlord must give tenants notice before evicting them. This can include tenants without a written lease and week-to-week and month-to-month tenants.

Can you file an eviction complaint during a state of emergency?

Lawmakers have suspended the filing of eviction complaints until 60 days after the end of the state of emergency. Mayor’s order extends the state of emergency (and with it the eviction ban) through May 20, 2021. Also, landlords cannot send tenants notices to vacate during the ban. – Utility shutoff moratorium during the state of emergency.

How to fight an eviction in Lehigh County?

For tenants, fighting an eviction means making sure you have the proper defense and know how to make your case. Some county courts will provide sample answer forms and other legal forms for tenants to use when responding to an eviction complaint, such as the Lehigh County Court of Common Pleas.