Users' questions

Can a 16 year old drink alcohol at home in Massachusetts?

Can a 16 year old drink alcohol at home in Massachusetts?

Written into the Massachusetts General Laws is a clause that allows a parent or grandparent to “furnish” alcohol to a minor in the privacy of their homes. People under the age of 21 are allowed to consume alcohol on private premises with the consent of a parent or grandparent, according to the state law.

Can a child sit at a bar in Massachusetts?

Anyone under the age of 21 is not allowed to sit at a bar in a restaurant nor be allowed into a tavern, pub, or bar that specifically services around a bar. If this is a restaurant you are allowed in, but not allowed to be seated at the bar.

Can you drink in your front yard Massachusetts?

You may drink on your own property even if it is in view of public property. You may not create a public nuisance. Even if you are on your own property if you are drunk and disorderly and in view of public property you can be charged with public intoxication.

Why is Happy Hour illegal in Massachusetts?

Massachusetts banned happy hours amid a national campaign against drunk driving in the 1980s, as well as after a string a local tragedies that involved drivers who had been over-served during happy hours.

Can you buy alcohol in Massachusetts on Sunday?

Starting Sunday, Massachusetts’ so-called “blue laws” will now allow liquor stores in the state to open at 10 a.m. — instead of noon — on Sundays to sell alcohol without needing to get any special permission from local authorities.

Why are happy hours illegal in Massachusetts?

Is it legal for a minor to drink alcohol in Massachusetts?

In a survey of underage drinking laws, the National Survey on Drug Use and Health found 37 states – including Massachusetts – have exceptions in their laws that allow for minors to possess alcohol, drink among family members or at home.

What are the laws about driving under the influence of alcohol in Massachusetts?

Massachusetts Law About… A compilation of laws, regulations, cases and web sources on operating under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Massachusetts. Mass. General Laws c.90: § 24 Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs § 24D Probation, alcohol education, alcohol treatment

What’s the legal blood alcohol level in Massachusetts?

Massachusetts’ maximum blood alcohol level is 0.08% and 0.02% if the driver is under 21 years of age. Operating under the influence penalties can vary depending on prior OUI offenses. Bars and restaurants in Massachusetts are prohibited from offering discounts on alcoholic beverages; this includes a total ban on happy hour promotions.

Who is responsible for regulating alcohol in Massachusetts?

The serving of alcohol in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts is governed by the Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission (ABCC), which is responsible for issuing licenses and permits for all manufacturers, wholesalers and importers, out-of-state suppliers, brokers, salespeople, warehouses, planes, trains, ships,…

What are the liquor laws in Massachusetts?

Massachusetts has some of the most strict alcohol laws, including that bars don’t have to accept out-of-state IDs as proof of age. Happy hours, free drinks, and drinking games like beer pong , are also prohibited in the state. Grocery stores are also limited to only five liquor licenses per chain.

What is the alcohol limit in Massachusetts?

In Massachusetts, the legal limit for alcohol is .08 Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) for those over 21.

How do you get liquor license in Massachusetts?

To acquire your Massachusetts liquor license, submit an application package, pay a fee and notify your neighbors of your intentions. 1. Go to the website of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts Alcoholic Beverage Commission (see Resources for a link) and click on “Licensing Division” at the top of the page.

Can you buy alcohol in Massachusetts on Sundays?

Massachusetts drinkers can purchase alcohol on Sunday mornings thanks to a new law. Sunday mornings just got a lot boozier. Massachusetts Governor Deval Patrick signed into law a bill that allows the state’s retail liquor stores to sell alcohol at 10 a.m. on Sundays, rather than at noon.