Users' questions

When can you evict in Maryland?

When can you evict in Maryland?

Failing to pay rent is a common reason for a landlord to evict a tenant. In Maryland, a landlord can begin the eviction process as soon as a tenant fails to pay rent when it is due.

Can a landlord evict a tenant in Maryland?

Each possible ground for eviction has its own rules for how the process starts. A landlord is allowed to evict a tenant for failing to pay rent on time. According to Maryland law, rent is considered late the day after it’s due; grace periods (if any) are addressed in the lease/rental agreement.

Where can I find stay of eviction orders in Maryland?

Please reference the latest Stay of Eviction Orders for District Court locations. For the latest information on COVID-19 in Maryland, please visit the Maryland Department of Health’s website at

Are there retaliatory eviction laws in Baltimore County?

Additionally, sections of the retaliatory eviction laws in Baltimore City, Baltimore County, and Montgomery County may apply when they provide stronger tenant protections than those of Maryland state eviction law. What is the process normally like?

Who is the landlord / tenant attorney in Maryland?

Whether you are a landlord or a tenant faced with eviction issues, Maryland landlord-tenant law attorney Rebekah Lusk, who leads the Landlord/Tenant practice at Lusk Law, LLC, understands what you are going through and is available to help.

What are the rules for eviction in Maryland?

Maryland evictions start with a 14- or 30-day notice requiring the tenant to pay past-due rent, fix any lease violations or move out. If the tenant ignores the notice, the landlord can file an eviction lawsuit with the local district court. Eviction cases are usually heard within five days.

What are the rules for eviction?

One of the main tenant’s rights during eviction includes getting a proper notice rather than coming home to changed locks on the doors, or their belongings thrown outside. Typically, the eviction notice must allow the tenant five to ten days to either fix the problem or leave the property.

What is a 30 day eviction notice?

The 30-day eviction notice is a final notice, which is designed to give the tenant 30 days to make a rental payment before he is removed from a building. A landlord typically places the notice on the doorway of the building.

What is the eviction process in Charles County Maryland?

To begin the process of eviction, the landlord requests a Warrant of Restitution, which must be filed within 60 days of judgment or the expiration of any stay of execution. In a Failure to Pay Rent Case, if the tenant does not pay all rent and costs determined by the Court to be due, the tenant will be evicted.