Helpful tips

How old does a kid have to be to say who they want to live with?

How old does a kid have to be to say who they want to live with?

14 or older
In California, your child will be heard at age 14 or older with regard to who he or she would prefer to live with.

At what age are you not responsible for your child?

18 years
The age at which a child legally becomes an adult varies from state to state, but in most states that age is 18. Most states that have parental responsibility laws have established the rule that parents can be held responsible for the acts of their child only until the child reaches 18 years of age.

What age does a child have a say in where they live?

While no law permits the child to choose their custody status, most California courts believe 14 years of age is old enough to express themselves and the reasons why they prefer one parent over the other.

Can I stop someone from being around my child?

You may or may not be able to stop the other parent’s significant other from being around your child. In general, you do not have the power to dictate which adults are around your child when they are with the other parent. When you have your child, you can decide who is present.

What to do if your child is living in the UK illegally?

A specialist immigration adviser will tell you the best way to legalise your child’s immigration status – don’t worry, it’ll be completely confidential. They’ll also be able to give you advice on your own immigration status if you’re in the UK illegally.

What to do if your child no longer wants to be friends with someone?

If your child no longer wants to be friends with someone, try to find out why. There may be something going on that you are unaware of. Of course, children should never feel pressured to stay friends with someone they don’t want to be friends with, but they should also never be cruel to another child.

What to do if your child has been dumped by a friend?

If your child has been “dumped” by a friend… Acknowledge your child’s hurt or angry feelings. Be comforting and supportive of your child. Give the child some time to heal before focusing on problem-solving. “Discourage your child from trying to ‘get even’ with the friend,” Kennedy-Moore urges.

How old do you have to be to have an imaginary friend?

Just because your child is talking to someone you can’t hear or see doesn’t mean that you need to frantically run to the closest psychiatrist and fill your child with medication for schizophrenia or psychosis. Having an imaginary friend is quite common in children under 7 years old.

Is it legal for a child under 18 to live with her parents?

It’s not an ideal situation, but the law is, generally speaking, on your side. A child under 18 is still technically under the legal control of her parents, which means they can decide things like where she lives.

Is it legal for 17 year old to move in with boyfriend?

But there’s likely not much they can do for older children. A 17-year-old is almost too old to take into the foster system, so courts may be unlikely to intervene. You can also call the police to force your child to come home. If you can get officers to respond, the experience may be embarrassing and intimidating enough to keep your kid at home.

Is it legal for a teenager to move out without my permission?

But while legally you have a right to make your children live at home until age 18, it may be hard to enforce that under the law. If your child moves out without your permission, you have several options. You could report the situation to the Department of Family and Children Services.

How old does a child have to be to be left home alone in Michigan?

Michigan In Michigan, there is no legal age that a child can be left home alone, according to the Child Protection Law. It is determined on a case-by-case basis, but the state explains that as a general rule, a child 10 years old and younger is not responsible enough to be left home alone.