Helpful tips

Can under 18 rent a house?

Can under 18 rent a house?

To rent a property you need to sign a type of contract called a lease. It’s usually difficult to have a contract that someone under the age of 18 can sign because usually the young person wouldn’t be held accountable if something went wrong.

How old do you have to be to rent a house in the US?

A United States Government Employee can rent at 18 years of age, but must show the rental location his or her official orders.

Can a hotel refuse to rent a room to someone under 21?

Furthermore, a hotel could adopt a policy of refusing to rent rooms to individuals under 21 or even under another age (such as 25 years of age), if the hotel has valid concerns about potential room damage, disturbances to other hotel guests, or underage drinking.

How old do you have to be to rent a room in a hotel?

A person may not rent a room in a hotel, motel, resort, or similar business for the purpose of providing alcoholic beverages to a person under the age of 21 years.

How old do you have to be to rent an apartment in Mississippi?

Some say 18 unless the teen is still in high school, in which case, her adulthood is postponed until graduation. Some say 19, and Mississippi draws the line at 21. When a young person reaches the age of majority in his state, he is treated like an adult under state law. That means that he can legally leave home and rent an apartment.

A United States Government Employee can rent at 18 years of age, but must show the rental location his or her official orders.

Is it illegal to refuse to rent to someone for sexual harassment?

Sexual harassment is another form of unlawful sexual discrimination. For example, it’s illegal to refuse to rent to a person who resists the landlord’s sexual advances or to make life difficult for a tenant who has resisted such advances. Unfortunately, not every rental is covered by the federal fair housing laws.

How old do you have to be to rent a car in NY?

In New York State, the minimum age to rent is 18 years of age as mandated by the state Any driver 18-20 years of age will be charged an additional ‘Young Renter Fee’ of $57.00 per day Any driver 21-24 years of age will be charged an additional ‘Young Renter Fee’ of $20.00 per day

Can a landlord refuse to rent to a disabled person?

Fortunately, where a landlord’s legal duty to reasonably accommodate the needs of a disabled tenant ends, his obligation to allow the tenant to modify the living space may begin. Disabled tenants have the right to modify their living space, at the tenant’s expense, to the extent necessary to make the space safe and comfortable.