Users' questions

Can landlords evict right now in Colorado?

Can landlords evict right now in Colorado?

Colorado’s eviction moratorium expired, but the Governor has ordered that landlords must give tenants a longer notice period before filing for eviction. The governor’s Executive Order had prohibited the filing and enforcement of evictions through June 13, 2020. The protection has now expired.

How long does eviction process take in Colorado?

Evicting a tenant in Colorado can take around 2 weeks to 4 months, depending on whether the eviction is for illegal activity or another type of eviction. If the tenant files an answer with the court, the process could take longer (read more).

Can a landlord charge a tenant as a security deposit in Colorado?

Colorado landlord-tenant law does not set a maximum amount a landlord can charge a tenant as a security deposit. However, if you charge a ridiculous sum, such as five months’ rent, as a security deposit, you will have a very difficult time finding tenants. It is common to charge between one and two month’s rent as a security deposit.

What can a landlord do to a tenant in Colorado?

If a landlord attempts to punish the tenant in some way because the tenant complained about the condition of the property, the landlord could be accused of an act of retaliation. Examples of acts of retaliation include increasing a tenant’s rent or filing for retaliatory eviction. §§ 38-12-503, 38-12-505, 38-12-507 and 38-12-508.

What’s the law on landlord retaliation in Colorado?

§38-12-503 and §38-12-509. Colorado’s landlord tenant law includes a statute on landlord retaliation. Tenants in Colorado have a right to file a complaint if their rental unit does not meet the standards of the warranty of habitability.

Can a landlord read a letter of acceptance?

Nobody can answer your question because we can t read any documents online. This is an issue you should discuss with the lawyer who drafted this letter of acceptance. Q: Landlord took 2 months rent and security. Now says I can’t afford rent.

Who is responsible for paying rent in Colorado?

Under Colorado law, all tenants are responsible for paying rent on time. If a problem or delay in payment is warranted, a tenant in Colorado must communicate this issue to their landlord without delay. Tenants in Colorado are also required to keep their premises clean and in compliance with all relevant health and safety codes.

What are the rights of a landlord in Colorado?

Colorado Landlord Tenant Rights In Colorado, leases can be either written or oral. Under Colorado law (C.R.S. Title 38, Art. 12), a lease agreement grants certain rights and responsibilities. Tenants have the right to a fit and habitable unit and to take some forms of alternative action

Can a tenant file a discrimination charge in Colorado?

Tenants may file discrimination charges online which will then be evaluated on a case-by-case basis. Given that the state lacks statutory guidance on the issue, landlords in Colorado are technically able to enter properties at any time without permission. As such, landlords and tenants must agree on entry notification policies in the lease.

Can a landlord withhold permission to sublet in Colorado?

Under Colorado case law, unless the lease prohibits subleasing, a landlord may not unreasonably withhold permission to sublet. Assignments An assignment is legal transfer to a third party of a tenant’s right to possession of a rental property for a specific time frame.